Diane Boyko re-elected as Catholic board chair

Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools' Board of Education held its annual organizational meeting Nov. 6: (l-r) Diane Boyko was re-elected chair and Ron Boechler vice-chair. (Photos courtesy of Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools)
By Derrick Kunz, Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools
Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools’ Board of Education held its annual organizational meeting Nov. 6, 2023 in Saskatoon. The annual meeting is where the board selects a chair, vice-chair, and trustees to represent the board on a variety of committees. Diane Boyko was re-elected chair of the board. Ron Boechler was re-elected vice-chair.

Fr. Stefano Penna, rector at St. Paul Co-Cathedral and the bishop’s delegate for the school division’s trustees and senior executives, led a prayer and commissioning service for trustees. He stated that, as disciples of Jesus — in addition to their role as elected officials — trustees have an authority to lead. He also challenged trustees to sanctify  – to make holy –  all aspects of their life.

“I am blessed to be at the board table with such gifted people,” said Boyko. “Our work together makes us stronger, and we’re blessed to be able to live our faith as we serve families who entrust us with the care and education of their children.”

Boyko added that work and partnerships with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saskatoon and the Ukrainian Catholic Eparchy of Saskatoon are important aspects of Catholic education.

With 50 schools and over 22,000 students, Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools is Saskatchewan’s largest Catholic school division, providing Catholic education from pre-kindergarten through Grade 12 in Saskatoon and area, Biggar, Humboldt, Martensville and Warman. We are rooted in faith, growing in knowledge and reaching out to transform the world.