Provincial CWL convention held in Humboldt

By Kiply Lukan Yaworski

[Catholic Saskatoon News] – Catholic Women’s League of Canada members and spiritual advisors from across the province gathered in Humboldt June 2-3 for their 71st Annual Provincial Convention.

Guest speaker June 2 was Archbishop Emeritus James Weisgerber, who explored the relevance of the CWL and the importance of all the baptized taking up their role as missionary disciples.

The CWL social justice award winner from 2018, Ashlyn Froehlich spoke about her participation in Intercordia, and what she learned from the experience of living and working in another country. The 2019 social justice award winner was also announced at the convention: this year’s winner of the provincial CWL award is St. Thomas More College student Jenna Daly of Regina.

During the second day of the convention (June 3), CWL National President Anne-Marie Gorman spoke about this year’s theme “Care For Our Common Home.” She shared a brief summary of Pope Francis’ encyclical, Laudato Sí,  as well as information on the length of time it takes for “disposable” items to break down in landfills. Members had time for discussion on environmental questions which included: “How do we want to leave this world for next generations?”

The convention also included reports from the standing committee chairs, an invitation to next year’s provincial convention from CWL members of Sacred Heart Parish in Prince Albert, and the election of a new provincial executive.

The convention concluded with Mass at St. Augustine, Humboldt, with Abbot Peter Novecosky, OSB, presiding, and the installation of a new provincial executive.

Provincial CWL Executive for 2019-2021:

  • President – Chantal Devine
  • Past-President – Margaret Schwab
  • President-Elect – Connie Crichton
  • First Vice-President – Marlene VanDresar
  • Second Vice-President – Marilyn Schuck
  • Recording/Corresponding Secretary – Marion Laroque
  • Treasurer – Helene Marceau
  • Spiritual Advisor – Father Peter Nnanga, MSP

Standing Committee Chairpersons:

  • Marge Appell
  • Marian Zsombor
  • Shirley Lamoureux
  • June Gorgchuck
  • Life Member Liaison – Susan Melchiorre

The new provincial CWL executive were installed at the June 2-3 convention in Humboldt: Front row (l-r): Marilyn Schuck, Chantal Devine, Father Peter Nnanga, MSP, Connie Crichton, Marian Zsombor, June Gorgchuck/ Middle row (l-r): Shirley Lamoureux, Helene Marceau, Susan Melchiorre / Back row (l-r): Margaret Schwab, Marlene VanDresar, Marion Laroque, Marge Appell. (Photo by Cynthia Schultz)