STM celebrates Order of Merit recipients

New recipients announced include STM alumnus Trevor Herriot and STM Scholar in Indigenous Education Harry Lafond

News item from St. Thomas More College

Saskatchewan Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty announced eight new recipients of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit at the end of JUne. Among the new recipients are STM alumnus Trevor Herriot and STM Scholar in Indigenous Education Harry Lafond.They will be invested in a ceremony in September.

“The Saskatchewan Order of Merit was established in 1985 to recognize excellence and achievement from outstanding Saskatchewan citizens. They have made significant contributions in areas such as art, agriculture, business and industry, community leadership, public service, research and volunteer service. The Saskatchewan Order of Merit is recognized in the Canadian Honours System.”

The 2022 recipients are:

  • Wayne Brownlee, Saskatoon
  • Carol GoldenEagle, Regina Beach
  • Trevor Herriot, Regina
  • John Hopkins, Regina (posthumous)
  • Shirley Isbister, Saskatoon
  • Harry Lafond, Muskeg Lake Cree Nation
  • Dr. Alan Rosenberg, Saskatoon
  • Marilyn Whitehead, Saskatoon

The original announcement can be found here:

Trevor Herriot – Trevor Herriot began his academic career at STM in 1976, and went on to earn undergraduate and honours degrees. He has since achieved success as a writer, naturalist, columnist, blogger, and radio commentator.

Herriot has won numerous literary accolades, including the prestigious Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence in 2017, and has greatly influenced public conservation and preservation policy.

Herriot was recognized as STM’s 2018 Distinguished Alumnus, and in 2021 was the recipient of an Honorary Doctor of Letters from University of Saskatchewan. Trevor Herriot was the guest lecturer for STM’s 2021 Keenan Lecture.

Harry Lafond – Harry Lafond was appointed to the newly created role of STM Scholar in Indigenous Education in fall of 2019. He teaches a course through STM as part of his academic duties at the College and also provides guidance in academic and administrative matters.

Lafond previously served as the Executive Director of the Office of the Treaty Commissioner in Saskatchewan (2007-19); and was the Director of Education for Muskeg Lake Cree Nation for five years (2002-2007), and  Muskeg Lake Cree Nation’s Chief for ten years (from 1990 to 2000).