New Appointments for STM Board of Governors

Dr. Helen Horsman is the new chair of the Board of Governors for St. Thomas More College, effective Jan. 1, 2021. (Photos courtesy of STM College)

By St. Thomas More College staff

[Editor’s note: This article is reprinted with permission from the St. Thomas More College website: LINK]

St. Thomas More College (STM) Board of Governors has announced the appointment of Dr. Helen Horsman as Chair and new Board members Melvin Gerspacher, Gordon Martell and Dr. Saeed Moshiri effective January 1, 2021.

STM College is the federated Catholic college at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon.

Dr. Helen Horsman, BEd, PGD, MEd, PhD, is the new chair of the STM College Board of Governors.

Dr. Horsman’s academic achievements and extensive resumé include serving as an instructor at both Saskatchewan universities, as well as for ITEP, SUNTEP, NORTEP, and the Indian Federated College. Dr. Horsman was superintendent for Moose Jaw Catholic Schools, Director of Education for both Holy Trinity School Division and Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools, and has served as the Assistant Deputy Minister of Learning, as well as the Chair of the SIAST Provincial Foundation Board. Dr. Horsman was inducted into the 2010 USask Alumni Wall of Fame.

Melvin Gerspacher

Dr. Gordon A. Martell

Dr. Saeed Moshiri









Appointed to the STM College Board of Governors as members-at-large are Melvin Gerspacher, QC, FCPA, FCA, a partner at Robertson, Stromberg LLP, a corporate and commercial lawyer with particular expertise in taxation; Gordon A. Martell, PhD, Superintendent of Learning Services with Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools and an adjunct professor in educational administration at the University of Saskatchewan; and Dr. Saeed Moshiri, PhD, economics professor and department head for STM College, with research published in top economic journals.

Other members of the STM College Board of Governors include Vice-Chair Jason Aebig, Treasurer Neil Reddekopp, Sr. Anne Lewans OSU, Marie Stack, Taylor Spock and STM College President Dr. Carl Still.