Clergy assignments, pastoral appointments, vocation updates and parish re-organization in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saskatoon

St. Mary Parish in Lanigan (pictured) and Holy Rosary Parish in LeRoy have each become part of different parish clusters as part of parish re-organization announced recently by Saskatoon Bishop Mark Hagemoen. (Photo by Daniel J. Classen for "Building the Church, Living the Gospel" 2013.)

“Please join in gratitude and prayer for all of these individuals and their ministry in our diocese. We ask for God’s blessings on them as they move forward to new assignments and endeavours.”Bishop Hagemoen.

PDF of July 28 Letter from Bishop – LINK

Kiply Lukan Yaworski, Catholic Saskatoon News

Pastoral assignments for clergy as of Aug. 1, 2023 were recently updated and confirmed by Bishop Mark Hagemoen of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saskatoon.

Parish re-organization affects two parishes in the diocese:  St. Mary Parish, Lanigan – now moved to the Wynyard pastoral region under pastor Fr. Augustine Osei-Bonsu – and Holy Rosary Parish, LeRoy – now moved to the Watson pastoral region under pastor Fr. Francis Akomeah. The Lanigan and LeRoy parishes were previously in a cluster of their own, based in Lanigan.

Parish re-organization

The bishop’s announcement about parish re-organization includes changes for the parishes at Lanigan and Leroy:

Fr. Augustine Osei-Bonsu

Fr. Augustine Osei-Bonsu has been appointed as pastor of St. Mary Parish, Lanigan. Fr. Osei-Bonsu is also the pastor of parishes at Wynyard, Wishart, and Foam Lake, and resides in Wynyard.

Fr. Francis Akomeah

Fr. Francis Akomeah has been appointed as pastor of Holy Rosary Parish, LeRoy. Fr. Akomeah is also the. pastor of parishes at Watson, Englefeld and Quill Lake, and resides in Watson.

The July 28 letter from the bishop also confirmed the following assignments effective Aug. 1:

Fr. Daniel Louh, SMA

Fr. Daniel Louh is appointed pastor of Sts. Donatien & Rogatien Parish, Prud’homme; St. Denis Parish, St. Denis; and St. Philippe Neri Parish, Vonda. He will also continue as pastor of Sts. Martyrs Canadiens Parish, Saskatoon.

Fr. Charles Nweze

Fr. Charles Nweze is appointed pastor of the parishes of Immaculate Conception Parish, Major; Our Lady of Grace Parish, Dodsland; Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Kerrobert; and St. Eugene de Mazenod Parish, Luseland.

Fr. Santhosh Thekkekulam, VC

Fr. Santhosh Thekkekulam, VC is appointed pastor of St. Mary’s Parish, Macklin; Sacred Heart Parish, Denzil; and St. Donatus Parish, St. Donatus/Cactus Lake.

Fr. Daniel Yasinski

Fr. Daniel Yasinski is appointed pastor of Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Saskatoon. He will also continue in his role as Vocation Director, along with Fr. Colin Roy.

Fr. Rinesh Menambadath Chacko, VC

Fr. Rinesh Menambadath Chacko, VC is appointed pastor of St. James Parish, Wilkie; St. Paschal Parish, Leipzig; and Our Lady of the Assumption (St. Mary) Parish, Handel.

Fr. John Ezeoruonye

Fr. John Ezeoruonye is appointed pastor of St. Front Parish, St. Front; St. Felix Parish, Archerwill; St. Lawrence Parish, Nobleville; Christ the King Parish, Rose Valley; and St. George Parish, Naicam.

Fr. Paul Oshin

Fr. Paul Oshin is appointed pastor of the St. Peter’ Parish, Muenster; St. Scholastica Parish, Burr; and Holy Trinity Parish, Pilger. Fr. Oshin will also carry out pastoral duties in Humboldt.

Fr. Greg Smith-Windsor

Fr. Greg Smith-Windsor is appointed pastor of St. Aloysius Parish, Allan; St. Mary’s Parish, Colonsay; St. Alphonse Parish, Viscount. Fr. Smith-Windsor will also serve as Associate Pastor (part-time) at Holy Spirit Parish, Saskatoon. Fr. Smith-Windsor will also be continuing to pursue further studies.

Fr. Andrew Wychucki

Fr. Andrew Wychucki is appointed associate pastor of St. Paul Co-Cathedral, Saskatoon.

Fr. Doug Jeffrey, OMI

Fr. Doug Jeffrey, OMI is appointed associate pastor of St. Philip Neri Parish, Saskatoon.


Bishop Hagemoen also thanked priests who are leaving the diocese:

  • Fr. Jean Baptist Murhumwa

    Fr. Jean Baptiste Murhumwa, who most recently served as pastor of parishes at Prud’homme, St. Denis, and Vonda is leaving the diocese.

  • Fr. Binu Rathappillil, VC

    Fr. Binu Rathappillil, VC, who most recently served as pastor at Macklin, Denzil, and St. Donatus,  is pursuing studies in the United States.

  • Fr. Geoffrey Young

    Fr. Geoffrey Young, who most recently served as pastor at Our Lady of Lourdes, Saskatoon, is now serving on the formation team at St. Joseph Seminary in Edmonton for a three-year term.

Vocations update:

In addition, Hagemoen provided an update on vocations and discernment.

Huy Le

Huy Le, first-year theologian, is currently residing at Saint Anne Parish, Saskatoon, and working at the Saskatoon Friendship Inn for the summer.

Van Tam (Luke) Tran

Luke Van Tam Tran has concluded his studies at the Seminary of Christ the King in Mission, BC, and is beginning an internship program, preparing him for ordination to the Diaconate and then to Priesthood. He is assigned to St. Mary Parish, Saskatoon.

Sr. Micheline Thibault

Sr. Micheline Thibault will make her first Temporary Profession of Vows of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience in the Queenship of Mary Community in Ottawa on Aug. 15, 2023 and will begin her new life as a vowed religious. On the Feast of the Assumption, Tuesday, Aug. 15, 2023 at 5 p.m. Saskatchewan Time (7 pm EDT) a live-stream video of the celebration of Profession of Vows will be available on the Queenship of Mary website at:


Kiply Lukan Yaworski is the communications coordinator for the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saskatoon –